SBA 8(a) Certified Small Business

In the fiscal year of 2010, small businesses received more than $18 billion in SBA 8(a) certified contracts. SBA 8(a) certification is granted by the government’s Small Business Administration (SBA) Business Development Program to minority and other disadvantaged small businesses. Companies that are SBA 8(a) certified, or who partner with SBA 8(a) businesses, receive special priority for federal contracts, as well as other advantages. Businesses with established SBA 8(a) certification are eligible for no-bid federal goods and services contracts worth up to $3 million, up to $5 million for manufacturing contracts.

Federal agencies that award contracts to 8(a) certified businesses include:

  • GSA (General Services Administration)
  • FDA (Food and Drug Administration)
  • HSFA (Homeland Security)
  • FDIC (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation)

To learn more about the manifold advantages of partnering with a minority business enterprise such as Crosby, or to find out how Crosby can assist you in obtaining SBA 8(a) or minority owned business certification, contact us at 301.585.3105.